Beautiful RARE certificate from the New Alexandria Improvement Company issued in 1894. This historic document has an
ornate border around it with the company's name on top center. This item has the signatures of the Company's President, L. W. Spears and Secretary, J.N. Wyckoff and is over 114 years old. It is slao signed by the Trustees, James S. Swartz and Frank K. Hipple.
Just four years after the inauguration of the first successful trolley line in the world at Richmond in 1888, the Fairfax Herald announced with enthusiasm that "a syndicate of Westem capitalists ... has secured the right of way over the streets of Alexandria for an electric railway, ... embracing the principal streets of the city and running from the steamboat and railroad depots to Mt. Vernon, the whole scheme involving the expenditure of not less than a half million dollars." The New Alexandria Land and River Improvement Company also bought "1,600 acres of land in [Fairfax] county, across Hunting creek, south of Alexandria, between that city and Mt. Vernon. Within four months of the project's inception, the Washington, Alexandria, & Mt. Vernon Electric Railway was "practically completed," and residents of the Mount Vernon-Woodlawn neighborhood began to prepare for an immediate advance of progress.
We will always maintain our founding commitment to customer satisfaction and the delivery of an educational product with an enjoyable shopping experience. Please
let us know how we may be of service to you.
All Old Stock and Bond
Certificates are actual authentic certificates and are sold only as collectibles.
We do not sell reproductions and offer a lifetime guarantee to the
authenticity of everything we sell.