Beautiful scarce certificate from the New York and Coney Island Railroad Company issued in 1908. This historic document was printed by Hatch Litho Company and has an ornate border around it with a vignette of a historic map of Coney Island. and a steamboat This item has the signatures of the Company's President and Treasurer and is over 99 years old.
The Culver Line began service on June 19th, 1875 as a steam railroad called the Prospect Park and Coney Island between Prospect Park (9th Ave. and 20th Street) and Gravesend Avenue and Neck Road. On July 27th of the same year, the steam line reached Cable's Hotel (later known as the Ocean View) in the West Brighton section of Coney Island at Culver Terminal. (Culver Terminal is the predecessor to today's Stillwell Avenue; its original location was at Surf Avenue and West 5th Street approximately where the Brightwater Towers stand today. Culver Terminal was a surface terminal adjacent to a roller coaster.) In 1879, the railroad leased the New York and Coney Island Railroad, with service beginning between Culver Terminal and Norton's Point, the western most tip of Coney Island. Connections to steamboats to and from New York City were made at Norton's Point.
We will always maintain our founding commitment to customer satisfaction and the delivery of an educational product with an enjoyable shopping experience. Please
let us know how we may be of service to you.
All Old Stock and Bond
Certificates are actual authentic certificates and are sold only as collectibles.
We do not sell reproductions and offer a lifetime guarantee to the
authenticity of everything we sell.