Beautifully engraved certificate from the Little Tavern, Inc. issued no later than 1961. This historic document has an
ornate border around it with a vignette of company title. This item is hand signed by the Company's President and Secretary and is over 43 years old.
Harry F. Duncan promoting Little Tavern
Harry F. Duncan founded the Little Tavern chain in 1927 in Louisville, Kentucky. In 1928 Harry and his wife Doris moved to Washington, DC where they
established their first Little Tavern Shop at 814 E Street, NW. The Duncans turned to engineer Charles E. Brooks and architect George E. Stone of Baltimore's Stonebrook Corp. who came up with a design for a hamburger stand based upon traditional Tudor cottage architecture.
In 1939, Washington, DC alone had 21 Little Tavern Shops with almost 50 Little Tavern Shops located throughout the D.C./Baltimore area. The Little Tavern motto was "Buy 'em by the Bag".
We will always maintain our founding commitment to customer satisfaction and the delivery of an exceptional product with an enjoyable shopping experience. Please let us know how we may be of service to you. Stay Safe!!!
All Old Stock and Bond
Certificates are actual authentic certificates and are sold only as collectibles.
We do not sell reproductions and offer a lifetime guarantee to the
authenticity of everything we sell.