Lake Placid Hotel Company - Essex County, New York - 1880's

MSRP: $69.95
$49.95
(You save $20.00 )
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
SKU:
lakplachotco
Gift wrapping:
Options available in Checkout
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Beautifully engraved unissued certificate from the Lake Placid Hotel Company dated 18XX. This historic document has an ornate border around it and was printed in the 1880's. This item is over 117 years old. Dr. Melvil Dewey, originator of the Dewey Decimal System, founded the social and recreational Club in 1895. In a co-operative spirit, its first members were professors, teachers, clergy, writers, and librarians. High standards and unique natural surroundings soon attracted those of means who shared the same interest in intellect and recreation. In 1906 winterized buildings were open for year-round use. By 1923, through vision and true entrepreneurship, the Club had expanded to 9,600 acres with a staff of over 1,100. At that time there were 356 buildings, 110 of which were residences; 21 tennis courts, and 7 golf courses Melville Dewey, founder of the Lake Placid Club With help for many years from the Club, Lake Placid has grown into a strong four season destination resort, world famous for hosting the 1932 and 1980 Olympic Winter Games. Surrounded by the dramatic natural beauty associated with the mountain areas of Europe, Lake Placid now stands on its own in attracting National and International sporting events and competitions. Melvil Dewey imported skis; built toboggan runs; had separate skating rinks for curling, hockey, and figure skating; and built the original ski jump at Intervale. Each year collegiate competitions drew crowds up to two thousand to watch jumpers fly over 160 feet. Melvil's son Godfrey was the President of the 1932 Lake Placid Olympic Winter Games, some giving him single-handed credit for bringing the 1932 Olympics to Lake Placid. History from Wikipedia.