Beautifully engraved Certificate from the famous Tamarack and Chesapeak Mining Company issued
in 1905. This historic document has an
ornate border around it with a vignettes of various ming scenes. This item is hand
signed by the company's officers and is
over 95 years old.
The Tamarack & Chesapeak Mining Co. -- no explanation has been found as to why Chesapeak lacks the final "e" -- was
incorporated in 1897 to manage a number of claims above Burke Canyon in Shoshone County, Idaho. The major stockholder
and manager before 1906 was Daniel Brien, a Wallace, Idaho, physician. The Day brothers, convinced of the value of the
Tamarack & Chesapeak holdings, began buying up stock quietly, acquiring proxies and delinquent stock. By 1906 they
controlled the majority of shares and were in a position to oust Brien and elect themselves to the board of directors. Harry Day
became president and manager. Litigation followed in which Brien claimed ownership, through his Snowy Peak Mining
Company, of certain company properties.
By 1913 the Days emerged as the victors but were required to pay compensation for some of the lode claims in question.
Daniel Brien subsequently left the area; his last known address according to the local paper was Seoul, Korea. When title to
the Tamarack & Chesapeak holdings had been settled, the Days merged this firm with their adjacent Custer Consolidated
Mining Company to form the Tamarack & Custer Consolidated Mining Company.
We will always maintain our founding commitment to customer satisfaction and the delivery of an educational product with an enjoyable shopping experience. Please
let us know how we may be of service to you.
All Old Stock and Bond
Certificates are actual authentic certificates and are sold only as collectibles.
We do not sell reproductions and offer a lifetime guarantee to the
authenticity of everything we sell.